Luke’s Life

really really long post that covers so many things i can’t name it

Posted in college, dorm, Houston, random, school, UT by lrobison on May 7, 2006

Disclaimer: much of the content of this post is incredibly stereotypical college-student. It is also exteremly long, and i have resorted to writing it in emacs rather than on elissa's web browser since her dsl line, her browser, and her computer are all in cahoots to erase my article (they did it twice)

Finals week:
Finals are upon me, I must study when i can, and sleep only after that. This results in me being up all night wednesday, sleeping all day thursday, studying all thursday night, and then sleeping a good portion of friday.

Friday:
I wake up around 7 and round up a gang to go eat. On the way out, I see gilbert in boxers. Oh yeah! its no pants day. As soon as we get back from all you can eat pizza, Rob and I loose the pants (his jeans are still in my room… heh). Since it's my room i take the extra time to put on boxer briefs under my boxers (don't want anything to unexpectedly pop out :-P ).

Looking to celebrate I gather caroline and claire and along with rob we head out to the hooka bar to relax in our pantsless state. We get lots of "whats with the uh… the… um…. why are you wearing boxers?". Normally somone else would be around that knew it was no pants day, and would inform the person about our fight against the evil pants.

By 11:30, Rob and I were ready to hit the party going on in Andrew and and Frit'z room on the third floor of my dorm. I tried to get the guys on my floor to go, but they had all been asleep since like 4pm (they too had been studying all night… or, in some cases, gaming). Rob and I went up and found andrew's room well populated with people playing drinking games, along with a keg in the corner. The keg had been smuggled up the stairs, since no one there was 21. Rob and I managed to convince most of the guys in the party to take off their pants, and the idea even trickled down to a few of the girls. Okay, just one girl, but i still count it a success. The room had over 25 people in it at one point, and after I left alex was convinced to do a keg stand. That was after 3 guys ran down stairs in boxers and dragged him upstairs to the party and away from his video game.

let me emphasize how college-esq this night was:

  • I had been studying nights and sleeping days
  • I ate all you can eat pizza for dinner
  • I went to a hooka bar
  • I went to a kegger party in the dorms
  • I did most of the above sans-pants

In fact, 80% of the people i saw after 1am weren't wearing pants (even though no pants day was officially over).

Saturday:
Wake up at 12, and eat breakfast with mike and alex, and FINALLY manage to convince somone to go to the new gregory pools with me. There are tons of hot girls there, and at least 5 or 6 guys in speedos. We were excited about the former, not so much the latter. We made fun of one of them who for a solid 30 minutes was putting on tanning lotion or something alone in a section of girls, and doing it in a very slow and sensual way. We avoided him and his speedo, by visiting the hot tub on the other end of the complex, but are quickly joined by two more people from the speedo club. card carying, butt-crack-showing members. We tried to avert our eyes as one of them decided to change in the middle of the patio, mooning the entire pool. Mike wasn't quite as fast as Alex and I, and has been scarred for life. It was even more awkward later that day when we saw him walking past kinsolving. I mean what do you say to guy like that… "hey man, i saw your butt a few hours ago at the pool – nice place no?"

Saturday afternoon I decide to come visit Elissa one last time before she cavorts around europe without me. I kinda got lost getting there, but found a senic state park along the way… pretty close to austin. Lost Pines or something like that. (no… NOT lost maples). Anyways, i was welcomed with a kiss from elissa and a bowl of nice japanese steamed rice from her mom.

Sunday (today):
Elissa treats me to a place called the Hobbit Hole. Where we buy the India Pale Ale named after the same ship Elissa is named after. It is the most tasty beer ever, and has almost a lemonade flavor to it. I get a sandwich which is like 40% avocado. The plan was to come back today, but elissa managed to change my mind with food, ice-cream, and coffee. I better get that french toast i was offered tomorrow morning :-9

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. elissa said, on May 7, 2006 at 23:27

    all we fed you was rice? you make us sound really cruel.

  2. lrobison said, on May 8, 2006 at 16:07

    rice and water – one step up from bread and water.

    you forget the sandwhiches and the french toast

  3. arvind said, on May 8, 2006 at 23:31

    fyi: Lost Pines = Boy Scout owned/affiliated campgrounds. Not particularly scenic, not particularly State Park-ey.

  4. lrobison said, on May 9, 2006 at 8:34

    ah, thanks arvind. I also drove back the same route, and turns out Bastrop state park is nearby as well. So we can hit that up if we want lots of pine trees. It was really random to just run into a forest in the middle of texas with big tall pines.


Leave a Reply

