Luke’s Life

OzzFest

Posted in San Antonio by lrobison on July 11, 2006

I left work at 3:30 cause i didn’t want to be there anymore and i had the tickets in my hand, plus Ozzfest is on the other side of San Antonio, and I didn’t want to get stuck in rush hour traffic. So I made it there at 5 (grabbed food on the way) and settled in for a good concert- except that they don’t let you bring blankets to sit on the grass with, so i had to check it in at the will call. Things started out a little slow, I don’t remember the band playing when i got in, but it was not too impressive, and they were tiny from our seats in the sun. Soon afterwards Lacuna Coil came on and it was good enough I decided to try the mosh pit. The last one i was in was at a Dream Theater concert and it was awesome. This one was good… but there were a few jerks who were throwing punches from the outskirts of the ring. A quick commentary on mosh pits: They are the most confusing display of physical agression paired with caring about people you’ve never met. If you fall everyone protects you and picks you up. Thats what I love about it. But… in the fray my prized sun glasses from 1 year ago broke :-(. That might have been the most memorable part of the night.

Next Disturbed and System of a Down played, they were cool, but i just didn’t get into it. I was tired and it was getting late by then, and I think my tastes in music have drifted away from metal. Not that it wasn’t a good time, but I think i’ll stick with the smaller more intamate concerts from now on.

Leave a Reply

