Luke’s Life

Dr. Robison, PhD of Computer Science… hmmm I like it

Posted in work by lrobison on August 3, 2006

My recent feelings toward my job here at SwRI has been that while the field i’m working in is kinda cool, and the people I’m working with tend to be the fun, non-corporate-droid types… I keep feeling that I wouldn’t be happy here for a long term job. I think I finally boiled it down to the lack of new things. You work on projects that you don’t pick, you work with the same people over and over. Sure there is lots of traveling and thats fun, but travel is to install systems, your personal interactions just aren’t that extensive. I spent the summer sitting in my cubicle alone all day.

But isn’t that what I said I wanted to do? I spent a summer working at Sea World, and I hated dealing with stupid customers that have you by the balls because they are paying you. Then I worked as a PC technician, and the small business jobs were cool, but the residential clients still drove me nuts. Both years I looked forward to a job alone with no annoying people, and here I am and now I’m worried that my circle of friends is set for the rest of my life as the 10 people around my hall. In what job can I talk to interesting people and not sit in my office all day yet still do the programming that I truly do enjoy?

Right now I’m thinking being a professor would be really good. Its the only job I can think of where you interact with cool people (both students and other professors), you get to travel (conferences, talks), you get to decide what you’re working on, and your projects don’t have to all be money making, fine-tuned products (only your papers have to be fine-tuned). Plus, how cool would Dr. Luke Robison sound? Oh I know professors have long hours, but they also get to stay in thriving, alive environments. And one more word for you: “Tenure”. SwRI is a cool place, but it still seems dead compared to UT.

Time for some audience participation: Can anyone suggest another job that is dynamic and interesting yet stable for long term employment, and provides a fair amount of personal interaction without having to bend over for a client?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. arvind said, on August 4, 2006 at 18:05

    1) Rock Star
    2) Supreme Overlord of Earth
    3) Mafia Don

    …I have nothing of value to contribute at this time :-[

  2. amelia said, on August 6, 2006 at 20:49

    a) become a consultant
    b) do video/podcast for an online channel
    c) a clown
    d) become “the architect” (like in the matrix)

  3. lrobison said, on August 7, 2006 at 0:25

    great thing about CS professor, is you can be a consultant during the summer. its like two jobs :-)

    hmm…. if theres any opening for “the architect” i’ll be sure to apply


Leave a Reply

