Luke’s Life

Dell Tech support (of DOOM!!)

Posted in rant by lrobison on October 29, 2006

<rant length=”entire post”>

I’ve had my Dell Inspiron 600m laptop for 2 years and a few months now, so its not so surprising that the hardware would start to crap out (I’m not even counting the HardDrive, that has already been replaced 2 times if i recall). This time though, the computer would just hard-lock. No mouse, no sound, no reaction to power, lidswitch or anything. Obviously not a harddrive problem, since i’m seeing the same symptom in both windows and linux. Being under full ‘customer care’ warranty I called them up. The first guy used the remote connect tool they have to try to install some drivers. The computer crashes in linux too. Its not my windows drivers genius. Guy number one tells me he need to look something up, and that he’ll call back in 10 minutes. Total time on the phone so far: 1 hour. I waited around for two hours, but still no call so the next day I called dell back. Another full hour waiting through hold and then explaining what had happened before. This guy decides it might be a hardware problem, but is suspicious about this foreign thing called linux, and thinks that “somehow, I’m not sure how, they might be interfering”. Dell would have some major bad publicity if they refused to fix hardware because linux was installed, so that option kinda faded out, and he decided to do a harddrive check. The low-level scan that takes for friggen ever, an hour spent running the check, but of course its clean. I was ready to get of the phone, it was 1am my time by then, but he wanted me to try swapping the memory module from slot a to slot b, and agreed that if it worked in slot b, then it must be a motherboard problem and they would replace it. He would call me back tomorrow and see if it had crashed The call lasted 2 hours. Tomorrow’s call never came so I called them back the day after, at least I had a case number this time. presumably the new guy could see what had happened and give me a new motherboard (2 days and no crashes). But this idiot wanted to start with drivers again, then decided to ‘clear my temporary files’ that might have caused it to crash. And it took me 40 minutes to get off hold and finally talk to him. He didn’t seem to understand what was going on until we were just chatting at each other rather than using the phone (he couldn’t understand me and i couldn’t understand him). An hour later he agreed to give me my motherboard as the guy previously had promised. Total time spent on the phone: 4 hours, and 45 minutes in 3 calls. I hate dell tech support.

</rant>

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. msat said, on November 15, 2006 at 10:24

    Our Dell Inspiron laptop was used infrequently for the past 1 1/2 years. Laptop crashed & was informed by a tech company that motherboard needs replacement. (Dell was no help) Dell was no help as warrenty was outdated so our goose was cooked. I will add that both my husband & myself have informed our friends in the workplace of the lack of reliability of our DELL product. It only takes 1 1/2 years for a motherboard to totally crash? Bad product in my homble opinion.


Leave a Reply

