Luke’s Life

ice storm ’07

Posted in looong, UT by lrobison on January 17, 2007

The forcasters really came through for us this time. We were promised ice, and boy did we get it. The first two days of school were cancelled and the campus turned white with the little pellets of sleet mixed with snow. I think it was the first time I had seen snow in Texas. So much snow that it didn’t melt when it touched the ground. I left footprints in the snow. These are new experiances for me. I’ve seen snow before… in Colorado. It was this special thing that only occurs in far off lands to the north, not something that covers familar places with white slippery particles. I wasn’t the only one enjoying our apartment doesn't have guttersthis ‘frozen rain’. I woke up to kids (college age) yelling “It’s snowing! It’s snowing!!” and rushed out side as fast as I could only to find a snowball fight in the making next door. I quickly joined in and managed to shower my neighbors in powdery ice before running back in side to warm my freezing hands (no gloves!). After a warm breakfast I was off to meet some people at Rob’s house in order to explore the campus. It quickly became aparrent that I would have to walk to his place, since the 1-inch layer of ice on my door was very happy about it’s new-found existance, and had no intentions of leaving (against my best efforts). Once I joined up with 5 other guys at Rob’s place, we took off to the nearest parking garage carying a board for snow (not a “snow board” mind you, just a board…. for snow). Every time it freezes in Austin The one other time it froze in Austin, we made the discovery that parking garages build up a paticularly thick and slippery layer of ice, which can provide hours of fun to people who love sliding around uncontrollably until they fall and hit the ground too hard. This time was no different, except that the pellets of sleet gave us a little more friction than before, but sliding down on the board worked just as well as last time. After the parking garage, we explored campus looking for slippery surface to exploit, but mostly just starting snow-ball fights or making snow men (snow midgets really).

But now it’s begining to warm up. The trees are thowing little leaf-sized peices of ice down on people, and iceicles everywhere are shrinking. Tomorrow they are only cancelling morning classes, making Thursday our first day of class this semester (rather than Tuesday). I’m ready for it though. The snow days have been fun, but are getting tedious… sitting around with nothing to do is only exciting for so long, and I think the excitement wore off about a week after New Years.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. elissa said, on January 19, 2007 at 19:12

    that picture sure is cool… er, cold.


Leave a Reply

